Hard News by Russell Brown

Read Post

Hard News: Through the Looking Glass

131 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Newer→ Last

• BenWilson,

Personally, it struck me as a contest that told me a bit about where the respective candidates are at personally, but remarkably little about where they're going politically

I doubt even if they did say things of substance that I'd believe them. It boils down to this - vote for Labour and get more of the same. Vote for National and who knows? Which is better? No one knows for sure, nor could they.

Auckland • Since Nov 2006 • 10657 posts Report Reply

• Paul Rowe,

As you can see from my "Posts:" count I am a fresh-faced newbie here at PAS and not yet adept at reading the sub-text.

There's a subtext here? That's it, Im off :)

Lake Roxburgh, Central Ot… • Since Nov 2006 • 574 posts Report Reply

• Gareth Ward,

Jim I certainly agree that our debt-to-GDP ratio is appalling and needs work, but you can't lay the blame at Cullen's feet for people spending up like that. I've certainly seen plenty of comments from him lamenting the nature of our foreign debt, but to expect those comments to completely change the nature of people's spending is a little unusual.
    And then to dismiss the things he CAN impact as Minister of Finance (retirement savings, surpluses etc) as pointless and worthless?

And it goes well beyond this "all coming to a head" - it's been a problem for some time, independent of any existing credit crunch (our "spending ways" aren't the problem there frankly).

Auckland, NZ • Since Mar 2007 • 1727 posts Report Reply

• Gareth Ward,

Stewart, any subtext is completely of my own making - and the day you (or anyone) decodes it I'm pretty sure my wife would appreciate a phone call explaining it... =>

• Jeremy Eade,