OnPoint by Keith Ng

Read Post

OnPoint: What gorilla?

79 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 2 3 4 Newer→ Last

• Dave Waugh,

Allegedly true story of a guy one of my lecturers knew. Physics PhD in early 80s working with lasers in prefab building. All but finished PhD, laser malfunctioned and burnt the building down...

Did the frickin shark survive?

Wellington • Since Nov 2006 • 98 posts Report Reply

• Caleb D'Anvers,

Don't just back it up. Leave a copy in another town.

I studied under a guy who was rumoured to have accidentally dropped his almost-completed PhD thesis down a stormwater drain. The pre-electronic world was a cruel place.

London SE16 • Since Mar 2008 • 482 posts Report Reply

• Danielle,

I once read a PhD thesis acknowledgements page which thanked 'my drug dealer and the Rolling Stones'.

(Sort of irrelevant, but I love trotting out that anecdote.)

Charo World. Cuchi-cuchi!… • Since Nov 2006 • 3828 posts Report Reply

• Steve Barnes,

I knew a zoology post grad who's homework ate his dog.

Peria • Since Dec 2006 • 5521 posts Report Reply

• JackElder,

I knew a zoology postgrad who ate her own homework. At least, her own research subjects, after she'd finished with them.

Green-lipped mussels, before you ask.

And it wasn't just the pre-electronic world that was cruel: I saw a note up at the Wellington bus station a while ago asking if anyone had found a USB thumb drive. "Contains entire year's academic work!" - yeah, that's the downside of portability, you've got to have a good backup regime to prevent this sort of situation.

Wellington • Since Mar 2008 • 709 posts Report Reply

• Stephen Judd,

Anyone who did computer support at a university in the late 80s or 90s remembers the horror and misery on the faces of graduate students who had inexplicably put everything they valued on one corrupt, unreadable floppy.

Wellington • Since Nov 2006 • 3122 posts Report Reply

• Steve Barnes,