Hard News by Russell Brown

Read Post

Hard News: "Evil called: Can you make a meeting at 11?"

319 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 9 10 11 12 13 Newer→ Last

• Sofie Bribiesca,

For me: a complete revamp of education, it is not delivering in so many ways.

One thing Key mentioned,when Havoc asked why he thought our young people were moving to Oz,(when the "everyone is leaving for Oz "was being bandied around that week), was , because "we were well educated".So with the other education policy that Nats say they have,(more funding for private schools),I can't imagine much change.I am no expert,and I have no idea how long it takes to measure effect of change, but, if we went back over the last 9 years, I suspect there has been quite a large revamp of the previous system
    When a friend recently said (regarding voting) "Oh,it's time for a change" and when asked why, he responded he didn't really know why,(his funding was secure, thanks to Labour) just thought National should probably be given a chance! Probably, maybe..
    I still get the feeling... If it ain't broke...

here and there. • Since Nov 2007 • 6796 posts Report Reply

• Paul Williams,

Just a reminder that benefit levels are currently (in dollar terms) still lower than they were before Richardson's 1991 budget; by my reckoning about 15%. In real terms, of course, it's much more than that.

Also, not really keeping up with (relevant) inflation, so in fact still going down.

3410, aren't you ignoring Working for Families in this analysis? Do you mean unemployment, disability etc? I understood that, as a result of increased employment and wages, improved housing and WfF, income levels for low- to middle-income individuals and families were better?

Sydney • Since Nov 2006 • 2273 posts Report Reply

• 81stcolumn,

Well for most students including as measured by progress in reading literacy for Year 5, senior secondary literacy and NCEA progress.