Speaker by Various Artists

Read Post

Speaker: What PACE actually does

96 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 2 3 4 Newer→ Last

• Lilith __, in reply to Islander,

while I am an exceptionally good fishnchip cook (and fisher) maybe the land would like my latent unborn stories better?

Yes!!!!

Dunedin • Since Jul 2010 • 3895 posts Report

• Islander,

Thanks Lilith!

But then, I think, I really can cook fish...but I am picky about freshness & mediums and - o phuque it all-

Big O, Mahitahi, Te Wahi … • Since Feb 2007 • 5643 posts Report

• BenWilson,

Dunno.

I'm pretty sure they'll like your writing better than your cooking. Which is not to say your fishnchips aren't nice, but your words will reach a lot more people. I hope you keep fishing, though. There's something very enheartening about the thought of you out there with a spear every morning.

Auckland • Since Nov 2006 • 10657 posts Report

• Lilith __, in reply to Islander,

Thanks Lilith!

Not that cooking can't be an art form...but stories are less perishable!

• Jackie Clark, in reply to Islander,

It so greatly upsets me when I think about great artists in this country who are not living in the comfort they should be. I think of yourself, Islander, and Douglas Wright, as just 2 examples of people who should be lauded and feted the rest of your days, who have contributed so greatly to the culture of this country, who have put us on the map in many ways, and yet, somehow, we fail to acknowledge that there are some people who really are such treasures.

Mt Eden, Auckland • Since Nov 2006 • 3136 posts Report

• steviant,

It's painful to see right-wingers put unemployed people through the wringer for a number of reasons, principal among them the fact that they know that without a large margin of the population unemployed, scarcity will drive up wages and that doesn't sit well with employers, who will in turn will use their vast resources to punish the government at the next election.