Hard News by Russell Brown

Read Post

Hard News: Limping Onwards

968 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 27 28 29 30 31 39 Newer→ Last

• Kumara Republic, in reply to BenWilson,

Finance majors have been my bitches for years. They're seldom aware of quite how dogmatically they are trained.

And the country continues to have a glut of law and commerce undergrads, which have been going on for some years.

The southernmost capital … • Since Nov 2006 • 5446 posts Report Reply

• Russell Brown, in reply to BenWilson,

And you’re ironically the very person Danyl is describing, the self taught savant. Fantastic when it happens, but aren’t you rather unusual?

You would not be the first person to make such an observation.

Auckland • Since Nov 2006 • 22850 posts Report Reply

• Rich of Observationz,

sell Artificial Intelligence solutions to farmers

Is that the system that bangs out Federated Farmers pronouncements on why they should be free to abuse livestock and pollute waterways?

Back in Wellington • Since Nov 2006 • 5550 posts Report Reply

• Craig Ranapia, in reply to Danyl Mclauchlan,

Just taking the thread even further off-topic for a second, apparently Nabakov once set an essay question in the exam for his Russian literature paper at Princeton: list the contents of Anna Karenina’s handbag. (This information is not given in the text.)

No it's not -- but anyone who'd bothered subject the set text to a close reading (a dying art, I know) should be able to must some pertinent observations about the symbolic and contextual importance of the small red bag Anna Karenin drops when she committs suicide (and bears to most of her squalid assignations)..

North Shore, Auckland • Since Nov 2006 • 12370 posts Report Reply

• nzlemming, in reply to Craig Ranapia,

Condoms?

Waikanae • Since Nov 2006 • 2937 posts Report Reply

• Percy Flage, in reply to nzlemming,

An English novel. Or a brick.

Since Apr 2011 • 5 posts Report Reply

• Jolisa,