Hard News by Russell Brown

Read Post

Hard News: The Clamour to Cringe

98 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 2 3 4 Newer→ Last

• tim kong,

Disclosure #1: I am a third year teacher.

Disclosure #2: I am knackered.

Literally hanging out for the last day of school. Like most teachers I'm assuming, whether it be the 14th or the 20th of December.

I have not read the PISA reports, so I can't speak to them. I do worry about the long length of the underachievers though.

I struggle to make sense of my students, and I'm sure they struggle to make sense of me some days. The trick is trying to make sense of it all together. That's where the learning is.

I demand high standards, real effort, reflection and honesty. I expect the same from my students. I struggle with parents who don't like that I demand these things and then demand that their students be treated with respect regardless of their behaviour.

IMHO the new curriculum is a powerful document. Despite the concern of Mr Minto it is to me a groundbreaking shift on what the purpose of education is - that will require passion, care, concern and a desire to make our place a better one. All those need to come from parents, teachers, students, communities - anyone who's interested in the future of the place.

Max - welcome to the most noble pursuit on the planet. I use noble in the sense that teaching is a pursuit that is decent, unselfish, righteous and worthy. You will be frustrated, challenged and despairing at times. See through the paperwork, the politics, the constant planning.

Be there for your students.
    Be the one positive, passionate, purposeful person in their lives.

Give them hope.
    Give them dignity.
    Believe in them.
    Believe in the possibilities that they are.
    Every day.

That might be in teaching them how to balance algebraic equations, how to make sense of a piece of text, or just be greeting them with a smile each day.