Hard News by Russell Brown

Read Post

Hard News: Start with your conclusion

164 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 3 4 5 6 7 Newer→ Last

• Just thinking,

@Alien, I'm not sure that this manufactured crisis wasn't part of the plan to then sell off these crown jewels.
    Yes I know the rule "Cock-up before Conspiracy", but this is so bloody minded.
    The change to an Auckland Law firm must be about the ill will in the establishment regarding Henderson, Carr, Parker.

Putaringamotu • Since Apr 2009 • 1158 posts Report Reply

• Steve Parks,

Nancy Jew and The Jihadi Boys

Awesome.

Wellington • Since May 2007 • 1165 posts Report Reply

• Steve Parks,

"Elders of Zion to Retire"

Wellington • Since May 2007 • 1165 posts Report Reply

• Peter Ashby,

@Richard

As a long time subscriber to New Scientist I know what you mean about their physics and cosmology coverage. Even as a biologist I can tell they are plumbing the ever more wild extremes of hypothesis purely to put a supposedly interesting article together. I have ceased to read many of those articles. My position is 'tell me about it when they can prove it'. I want some data please, not ever more fanciful String Theory derived wanderings in fantasy land.

Mind you the recent article which claimed that massive lateral gene transfer down amongst the protists challenged Darwinian Evolution without noting that it was absolutely and utterly consistent with Dawkins's Selfish Gene Theory suggests they the rot is entering the biology coverage too.

Unfortunately this is all driven by an increasingly desperate search for sales in a declining market. People are not buying magazines any more, instead they are going on the net. So NS are heading ever more into the realm of sensationalism to try and increase sales. Unfortunately this merely serves to alienate their loyal readership like you and me.

Dundee, Scotland • Since May 2007 • 425 posts Report Reply

• Alien Lizard (anag),