Hard News by Russell Brown

Read Post

Hard News: Behaving badly at the bottom of town

122 Responses

First ←Older Page 1 2 3 4 5 Newer→ Last

• Steve Parks, in reply to Matthew Poole,

You are a perfect example of how broken the “random” selection is, though. I know many people who’ve never been summonsed,

I'm one of those, and I'd happily do jury service. Last ten years in Wellington, no call up. In that same time, my ex was called for trials almost immediately after the 2-year reprieve. 3 or 4 times, I think. And we have concerns that it difficult to get jurors, with too many people opting out with excuses. There is something wrong with their system, for sure.

Wellington • Since May 2007 • 1165 posts Report Reply

• Islander,

I've *never* been called for jury service...maybe it's because I live in a remote area (but there are jury trials in Greymouth.) Maybe it's because I'm an ex-law student.
    Maybe it's just the luck of the draw...

Big O, Mahitahi, Te Wahi … • Since Feb 2007 • 5643 posts Report Reply

• Ben Austin,

I was called up at university, but it was a week that I either had a load of exams or a thesis due (I forget), but either way, it was a straight forward process to withdraw from the process weeks before.

London • Since Nov 2006 • 1027 posts Report Reply

• Graeme Edgeler,

Is there a limited number of challenges for each side

I believe it’s six per side, but whatever it is can be varied by the judge with the agreement of counsel – as is the case with the majority of the rules that apply to running a trial.

It changed reasonably recently. It's now four per defendant per side without cause (but the prosecution never gets more than eight). And I'm pretty sure it can't be varied.